• USD 74.63
  • EUR 90.07
  • BRENT 65.80 +1.87%

Oman issues visas to citizens of Abkhazia and South Ossetia

Consulate General of Oman in Istanbul has listed Abkhazia and South Ossetia as independent states on its official website describing the procedures of issuing visas to foreign businesspersons. Georgia is referred to as another state.

Georgian media reported on March 24 that the Foreign Ministry of Georgia is trying to clarify the situation. The Embassy of Georgia in Ankara is actively cooperating with the Embassy of Oman.

“It was misunderstanding, as official Oman does not recognize independence of the occupied territories and recognizes Georgia’s sovereignty within the internationally recognized borders,” the Georgian Foreign Ministry said.

After Georgia’s aggression against South Ossetia in 2008, the Russian Federation has recognized the independence of Abkhazia and South Ossetia. Later, the two republics were recognized by such countries as Nicaragua, Venezuela, Nauru, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu. Earlier, Georgia reported that Tuvalu and Vanuatu recalled their decisions to recognize the independence of Abkhazia and South Ossetia. However, the two republics have not received any relevant notifications yet. Oman has not recognized the independence of Abkhazia and South Ossetia officially.

Добавьте EAD в свои источники:Яндекс-Новости Google News
All news







Show more news