• USD 65.90 -1.12
  • EUR 74.68 -1.28
  • BRENT 67.16 +0.80%

Oppositionists win seats in Belarusian parliament

Anna Konopatskaya. Photo: BelaPAN

Several oppositionists have won seats at the parliamentary elections in Belarus held on Sept 10, the head of the Belarusian Central Election Commission Lidia Yermoshina announced.

As she said, at one of the constituencies in Minsk the winner is Anna Konopatskaya, a member of opposition party United Civil Party. Her key rival was a more prominent oppositionist, former presidential challenger Tatyana Korotkevich.

▼ читать продолжение новости ▼

Besides, the seat from Minsk Region will go to deputy head of the Belarusian Language Society Elena Anisim. She has already announced her first move will be to promote a bill on state support of the Belarusian language. “I was running for seat at the parliament from an organization that drafted this bill. We submitted it to MPs of the current term, but received no support. Of course, I will be looking for supporters at the new parliament,” she is quoted as saying by naviny.by.

As EADaily reported earlier, the parliamentary elections were held in 110 constituencies. According to official information, the turnout was 74.8%. Most observers fixed no essential violations at the elections.

Permalink: eadaily.com/en/news/2016/09/12/oppositionists-win-seats-in-belarusian-parliament
Published on September 12th, 2016 01:03 PM
All news





Show more news
Press «Like», to read
EurAsia Daily in Facebook
Press «Follow», to read
EurAsia Daily in VK
Thank you, don't show this to me again