• $ 81.50 +0.74
  • 86.51 -0.66
  • BR 76.40 +2.12%

Kvirikashvili introduces candidates to new Cabinet

Leader of the Georgian Dream-Democratic Georgia Party and candidate for prime minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili has introduced the future government to be approved by the parliament of the ninth convocation shortly.

The previous staff of Georgia’s government led by Giorgi Kvirikashvili resigned on November 18 after the powers of the new parliament of the ninth convocation were approved. On November 19, President Giorgi Margvelashvili introduced Kvirikashvili as candidate for the post of the prime minister.

The following ministers will retain their posts in the new government of Georgia: Deputy Prime Minister – Minister of Energy Kakha Kaladze, Minister of Foreign Affairs- Mikheil Janelidze, Minister of Labor, Defense Minister Levan Izoria, Minister of Internal Affairs Giorgi Mghebrishvili, Minister of Justice Thea Tsulukiani, Health and Social Affairs Minister Davit Sergeenko, Minister of Internally Displaced Persons and Refugees Sozar Subari, Minister of Education and Science Alexander Jejelava, Minister of Agriculture Levan Davitashvili, Culture Minister Mikheil Giorgadze, Sport and Youth Affairs Minister Tariel Khechikashvili, Corrections Minister Kakha Kakhishvili, Environment and Natural Resources Minister Gigla Agulashvili, and Reconciliation and Civil Equality the State Minister Ketevan Tsikhelashvili.

As expected, changes and reshuffles occurred at the economy ministry. In particular, Minister of Economy, Dimitry Kumsishvili, was appointed as the finance minister and will also serve as first deputy prime minister. The economy minister will be the current business ombudsperson Giorgi Gakharia. Levan Davitashvili will be the agriculture minister.

The Ministry of Infrastructure has also undergone changes, as acting Minister Nodar Javakhishvili was replaced by Zurab Alavidze. Nomination of Viktor Dolidze, former member of opposition party Free Democrats, as state minister for European and EuroAtlantic Integration was quite expected.

After the presentation of the new Cabinet members, Georgia’s Parliament will vote for them. The new government will need the support of at least 76 lawmakers in the 150-seat legislative body to be officially confirmed.

According to acting prime minister’s decision, the Ministry of Diaspora has been merged with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Georgia.

Georgia’s parliament will shortly vote for the new Cabinet led by Giorgi Kvirikashvili and his governmental program. The new government will need the support of the majority of votes in the 150-seat legislative body, where the constitutional majority is represented by the ruling party Georgian Dream – Democratic Georgia (115 seats).

All news








Show more news