• $ 69.82
  • 75.95 +0.23
  • BR 85.55

Leader of protest movement in Armenia released

The leader of the Armenian protest movement, MP Nikol Pashinyan has been released. These are the results of his talks with Armenian First Deputy Prime Minister Karen Karapetyan.

“The logic of our activities has not changed. Tonight, there will be a rally at the Republic Square. Until then, I need to get familiar with the current situation. After that I will make a decision,” Pashinyan told reporters.

At the same time, he noted that all supporters of his movement are to be freed.

As EADaily reported earlier, Armenian Prime Minister Serzh Sargsyan, President Armen Sargsyan, First Deputy Prime Minister Karen Karapetyan, and President of the Nagorno-Karabakh Republic Bako Sahakyan had a meeting at the residence of the Armenian president. After the meeting, Karen Karapetyan announced that he would address the Armenian Prosecutor General and asked him to withdraw the appeal on arrest of MPs Nikol Pashinyan, Ararat Mirzoyan, and Sasun Mikaelyan.

The deputy prime minister also said he was going to meet with the leader of the protest action Nikol Pashinyan.

Pashinyan, Mirzoyan, and Mikaelyan were detained at an opposition rally were detained on April 22. They were accused of organizing illegal mass gatherings.

Prime Minister Serzh Sargsyan and the leader of the protest movement Nikol Pashinyan had talks on April 22, but failed to come to agreement. After that, the authorities started dispersing the rally. During the clashes, Pashinyan, Mirzoyan, and Mikaelyan were taken to police. Later, the Prosecutor General’s Office reported they were detained.

Yerevan has been ridden by mass protest actions since April 13. The protesters speak against former president Serzh Sargsyan becoming prime minister. At a rally on April 17, the leader of the protest movement Nikol Pashinyan declared start of a “Velvet Revolution” in the republic. On the same day, the Armenian parliament voted for Serzh Sargsyan as prime minister: 77 MPs voted for it, 17 MPs were against.

After a constitutional reform was approved by a referendum in 2015, Armenia is switching from the presidential to parliamentary republic. Prime Minister Serzh Sargsyan will have all power levers concentrated in his hands. Armen Sargsyan elected as president on April 2 will have only representative functions.

All news








Show more news